Future Retrospective Plans – Rest of 2016 & Early 2017

Hello everyone!

Been a while since the last Retrospective but I have a few announcements I want to share with this post. I plan on making Retrospectives for the Super Mario Series, Rayman, Sly Cooper, God of War and more franchises in the future, with all but God of War being exclusive to this site.

Originally, my Retrospectives were welcome with open arms on NeoGaf and many loved my work on the Sonic, Ratchet & Mega Man series. But, I noticed that the forum as a strong distaste for the platforming genre, so I decided all future platforming-genre related Retrospectives will be on this site and maybe other sites in the future.

I hope you all understand my decision regarding this, as I would rather people read my Retrospectives without hateful or sour comments on the games I cover.

Okay, now that is out of the way, going to detail what games I will be covering for each.


Crash Bandicoot – Returning with Style and with some Mutants

The Crash Retrospective has been a huge success over on both Press Start AU for the original trilogy and on Crashy News for the entire series thus far. Going to be covering more games in the series, as I only have a few left to cover. Keep an eye out on Crashy News for daily/weekly Retrospectives for the following titles this July.

  • Crash Bandicoot: The Big Adventure
  • Crash Bandicoot: N-Traced
  • Crash Bandicoot: Tag Team Racing
  • Crash of the Titans (All Versions)
  • Crash Mind over Mutant (All Versions)

Rayman – The Limbless Wonder!

Rayman is one of my favorite platforming franchises and is a series I wanted to cover for a while, with plans originating since late May. But I want to complete the Retrospectives I have running now first, so will be covering this in July & August exclusively on this site.

  • Rayman
  • Rayman 2: The Great Escape (ALL Versions being referenced)
  • Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc
  • Rayman Raving Rabbids
  • Rayman Origins
  • Rayman Jungle Run
  • Rayman Festa Run
  • Rayman Legends

 


Klonoa – The Traveler of Dreams

This series is one I respect a lot for blending the 2D platformer with 3D gameplay elements, leading to a special series that does a lot right with amazing music, tight level design and some of the best visuals on the PlayStation, PS2 and GBA. It is a short series, so this will run alongside Rayman & Sly Cooper on this site.

  • Klonoa: Door to Phantomile (PS1 & Nintendo Wii Versions)
  • Klonoa: Empire of Dreams (GBA)
  • Klonoa 2: Lunatea’s Veil (PS2)
  • Klonoa 2: Dream Champ Tournament (GBA)

Super Mario! 

Mario is a series I really love and I can’t wait to cover this one later this year! It will be all the mainline 2D and 3D platformers, with the list maybe adding some spin-off games I enjoyed a lot like Mario Power Tennis or Mario Kart DS. This won’t start until later September, when the Mega Man (Classic & X Series) and Ratchet & Clank Retrospectives are complete. It will run only on this site but plans might change if the demand is high enough.

  • Super Mario Brothers
  • Super Mario Brother 2
  • Super Mario Brothers 3
  • Super Mario World
  • Yoshi’s Island: Super Mario World 2
  • Super Mario 64 (Both the N64 & DS versions)
  • Super Mario Sunshine
  • New Super Mario Brothers (DS)
  • Super Mario Galaxy
  • New Super Mario Brothers Wii
  • Super Mario Galaxy 2
  • New Super Mario Brothers 2 (3DS)
  • Super Mario 3D Land
  • Super Mario 3D World

Spyro the Dragon Returns!

This Retrospective has been put on hold for a while, and I apologize for that. It will be resuming in July, launching first on this site and coming to NeoGaf a few days later. People dislike platformers on NeoGaf and I prefer using the editing features of WordPress anyway, so hope you all understand. Anyway, the below games will be covered at the specific month listed.

July: Year of the Dragon, Enter the Dragonfly, A Heroes Tail, Season of Ice & Flame, Attack of the Rynocs

August: Shadow Legacy, The Legend of Spyro Series (A New Beginning, Eternal Night, Dawn of the Dragon)

September: Long Retrospective Article focusing on the entire Skylanders series


God of War: Violent Retrospective of the Killing Machine

I love this series a lot and it is a franchise I have a lot of respect for. Played every game in the series and this Retrospective will come out closer to October/November, running alongside my Mario Retrospective. It will release on both this site and NeoGaf, as I feel more confident people will like the Retrospectives of this series verses platformers.

  • God of War
  • God of War II
  • God of War Chains of Olympus
  • God of War III
  • God of War Ghost of Sparta
  • God of War Ascension
  • God of War PS4 (Special Retrospective: Releasing a few weeks after the PS4 games launch in the future)

Mega Man: Jacking into the System and Visiting a Ruined Future

Mega Man’s Retrospective will return with a focus on the Battle Network, Zero, ZX and Star Force sub-series. They will run on NeoGaf and this site, with them being spaced apart weekly. This should resume in September/October but it might be moved to early 2017 to help celebrate the anniversary of the Mega Man series as a whole. Will let you all know when I decide what I want to do in the future.

  • Battle Network 2-6
  • Zero 1-4
  • Mega Man ZX
  • Network Transmission
  • Battle Chip Challenge
  • Mega Man ZX Advent
  • Mega Man Star Force 1-4

Sly Cooper: Hidden Retrospective

The Sly series is one I greatly enjoy and with only four games, it will be a shorter Retrospective series. It will run alongside the Rayman, Mega Man and Spyro Retrospective Series I have planed for this Summer (July-August), so keep an eye our for a sneaky raccoon on this site in the future.

  • Sly Cooper
  • Sly 2: Band of Thieves
  • Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves
  • Sly Cooper (4): Thieves in Time

 


Persona Series – Mass Destruction Baby! 

These are special cases, rather then covering the whole Persona series, will just be covering Persona 3-5 in the future. I say this as these are very similar to each other vs. the original Persona games, which have very different mechanics overall. But I will touch on them and I might change my mind on covering them. Anyway, I love this series (3 & 4) and they will be special as my first ever RPG Retrospective series! They will pop up on NeoGaf, this site and maybe other places in the future. Keep an eye out for some shadows and odd coffins during the Dark Hour this Fall. This will run on both NeoGaf and this site.

  • (Maybe) Persona
  • (Maybe) Persona 2 Games
  • Persona 3: Original Version, FES Edition and Portable Edition
  • Persona 3 Movie Series Reviews (Going on 3wirel as the Retrospective starts)
  • Persona 4 Golden
  • Persona 4 Arena & Arena Ultimax
  • Persona 4 Dancing All Night
  • (Maybe) Persona Q
  • Persona 5

Kirby – Puffball of the Stars

Kirby is a series I grew up with and have a strong connection to, meaning that this Retrospective series will be just as long compared to my Sonic one. We will be looking through ALOT of games in the series and like Sonic, will last a number of months. It will be on this site and maybe will be on NeoGaf in the future but not super sure as of now. Will be launching in Early 2017 and I hope you all look forward to it!

  • Kirby’s Dreamland
  • Kirby’s Adventure
  • Kirby’s Dreamland 2
  • Kirby’s Dreamland 3
  • Kirby Super Star
  • Kirby Tilt and Tumble
  • Kirby Pinball
  • Kirby 64
  • Kirby Air Ride
  • Kirby Nightmare in Dreamland
  • Kirby & The Amazing Mirror
  • Kirby’s Canvas Curse
  • Kirby Squeak Squad
  • Kirby Super Star Ultra
  • Kirby Mass Attack
  • Kirby Returns to Dreamland
  • Kirby Triple Deluxe
  • Kirby & The Rainbow Curse
  • Kirby Planet Robotbot

So, these are my plans! 

I have a lot of goals for my Retrospectives in the future and I hope you all join me as we travel cross a number of different franchises! Keep an eye out on Crashy News for the Crash Retrospective and NeoGaf + This Site for more Retrospectives in the future. Thank you all for your time and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

